Older Dachshund Peeing In Your House?

Is Your Older Dachshund Peeing In Your House?

Our beautiful frosty faced Dachshund Luke occasionally needs reminding to stop sniffing for a moment and pee!

Sometimes he asks to go outside and then gets distracted – Ok, I admit I am easily distracted too :-)

We are very grateful that he has not started peeing in our house, however I have been getting a few emails from Dachshund owners who are not so lucky.

Some have recently adopted a senior Dachshund only to find out the possible reason for them being in a shelter in the first place – they were not fully housebroken.

Others have dachshunds that have just started to pee in the house after years of being fully potty trained!

Both are frustrating to deal with but I really want Dachshund owners who are having these problems with their little bundles of joy to actively learn how to stop this behaviour and break the circle of dachshunds ending up in shelters.

Read my newest article Older Dachshunds Can Be Potty Trained.

2 Responses

  1. I bought a 9 month old silver dapple daxie in March(Alfie), he is 13 months old now and I love him dearly. When we went to purchase him he peed all over me and the lady said “he has never done that before” so I put it down to nerves and bought him anyway. It soon came apparent that was why he was rehomed, I took him to vet the next day he was treated for urine infection. Unfortunately he still pees on daily basis, in his bed, if you go to pick him up etc. I do not want to give up on him. I have another Jack x Lakeland (Jasper) dog who is 2years old he is house trained and pee’s on command when sent outside “Out to wee then” both of them get on very well together, I thought Alfie would pick up Jasper’s good toilet habits, but this is not the case. PLEASE HELP111

  2. Hi my name is Amy, I have a semi standard dachshund who is 12yrs old. Ever since he was young, he went to door, letting me know he had to go out. Now he is peeing in house and sometimes the other!
    Don’t know how to handle this. I also have a standard dachshund, and big chuwawa. Help!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

